grain gluten hides

Top 15 Places Gluten Hides

We’ve talked about the dangers of gluten and the easiest ways to go gluten-free. But one of the most challenging parts of eating gluten-free is hunting down the hidden sources of gluten in common foods.

The obvious no-no’s include anything that contains wheat, barley, or rye; bread, noodles, and flour are the most common offenders.

It’s also important to look for gluten-free rolled oats, as they’re often processed with gluten. The same goes for soy sauce, Korean gochujang sauce, and beer, typically brewed or fermented with wheat or barley.

However, the following 15 foods can be tricky because they are commonly used names for ingredients that contain gluten. When eating gluten-free, it’s important to avoid:

  1. Bulgur (dried cracked wheat)
  2. Bran (the hard outer husk of several grains)
  3. Couscous (tiny grains of wheat pasta)
  4. Einkorn (a species of wheat)
  5. Farina (a cereal made of wheat)
  6. Farro (a blend of grains)
  7. Groats (often made from barley)
  8. Kamut (ancient wheat species)
  9. Malt Extract or Flavoring (both come from barley)
  10. Matzo (made of wheat without leavening)
  11. Orzo (looks like rice but is actually wheat pasta)
  12. Seitan (vital wheat gluten often used as a meat substitute)
  13. Semolina (cereal made of durum wheat)
  14. Spelt (a species of hulled wheat)
  15. Triticale (a hybrid of wheat and rye)

One final note: while buckwheat has “wheat” in the name, it's actually a gluten-free seed and a safe option for those with a gluten intolerance or celiac.

Learning to read labels is a big part of going gluten-free, and this list can help you succeed. Have anything to add to the list? Please comment below!

Thanks so much for reading this post! If you’re interested in finding out more about how to dial in your diet and health, please check out my online programs. They’re science-based and have already helped thousands of people feel better fast and lose the weight.

Top 15 Places Gluten Hides-min

Recent Posts