Our #1 selling plant-based shakes are back in stock! Shop Now

Top 10 Places Dairy Hides

Top 10 Places Dairy Hides

I suffered from terrible skin problems for 30 years. Then I eliminated dairy from my diet, and suddenly my acne went away in a matter of days!

Breakouts are just one symptom of a dairy intolerance. If a bowl of Greek yogurt leaves you feeling gassy and bloated or your whey protein shake gives you sinus congestion and headaches, it might be time to dump the dairy! (Test dairy in Cycle 2 of The Virgin Diet to find out for sure…)

While you know milk and ice cream are obvious no-no’s when going dairy-free, it's trickier to recognize other common foods that contain dairy in disguise.

So how can you tell where dairy lurks?

For starters, it's important to be aware that lactose, casein, and whey are all names for dairy.

If any of those ingredients are on the package, then it’s not dairy-free. Lactose-free milk still contains dairy in the form of milk proteins, so don’t let the lactose-free label fool you!

Surprisingly, dairy can also hide in canned foods, bread, crackers, and baking mixes. Did you know even some canned tuna brands contain casein?  

That’s why it’s always important to check the ingredients to be sure dairy isn’t sneaking in where you least expect it. The 10 foods below can be challenging because they’re all places where dairy hides.

When dropping dairy from your diet, it's key to avoid dairy in:

  1. Protein Shake Powder (Often made from whey protein; look for versions without the 7 highly reactive foods like my All-In-One Protein Shakes.)
  1. Protein Bars (Frequently made from whey or soy protein; instead, choose healthy bars without the 7 foods likely to cause food intolerances.)
  1. Vegetarian Cheese (I assumed nut-based cheese was safe, but I was wrong! Some varieties include hidden dairy, so be sure to always read the labels. Now I stick with Kite Hill Almond Ricotta Cheese because I know it’s dairy-free and delicious!)
  1. Salad Dressing (Beware of creamy dressings!)
  1. Deli Meats (Lactose and casein are often added to help blend the ingredients together.)
  1. Fro-yo and Sherbet (Ice cream is not the only frozen dessert where dairy hides!)
  1. Soups and Chowders (Cream or milk is often one of the main ingredients.)
  1. Yogurt and Kefir (For the benefits of probiotics without the dairy, try a low-sugar Kevita sparkling probiotic drink or a high-quality probiotic supplement like Microbiome Balance.)
  1. Coffee Creamer (In addition to milk products, many contain oils, sugars, and chemicals. If you don’t like your coffee black, use some unsweetened coconut milk to lighten it up.)
  1. Chocolate (Don’t worry, I’m not going to tell you to say goodbye to chocolate! While milk chocolate obviously contains milk, most dark chocolate is dairy-free.)  

When you know which ingredients to watch out for, going dairy-free can be a breeze!

Thanks so much for reading this post! If you’re interested in finding out more about how to dial in your diet and health, please check out my online programs. They’re science-based and have already helped thousands of people feel better fast and lose the weight.

Recent Posts

OVER 60 FREE RECIPES

3 steps to a perfect smoothie
+ 48 recipes + $10 off protein

Replacing carb and sugar-loaded breakfasts with a powerful, protein-packed shake is EASY when you have taste-tested recipes that rock!

Get your SMOOTHIE GUIDE here!

Recent Posts